Home
About Us
Ordering Information
Links
Plant Information
MyEbay Auctions
Gift Certificates
Tell a Friend
Contact Us
Join Our Mailing List
Search






 

Carnlough

Carnlough

Carnlough village is beautifully situated on the famous Antrim Coast Road (A42), 14 miles north of Larne, Co.Antrim, Northern Ireland. It boasts a magnificent backdrop - Glencloy - the second of the Nine Glens of Antrim - the 'Glen of the hedges'. There are many local tales of how the village got its name but the most popular relates to Ireland's patron saint. Local legend has it that St. Patrick founded a Christian group in the area and that one of his disciples, La, was left in charge of the new converts. Unfortunately, under La's leadership the converts gradually returned to their pagan ways and on Patrick's return, La was so overcome by remorse that he chopped off his hand and buried it beneath a memorial cairn - hence Cairn of La. The Cairn is believed to have been built on the site of the present Carnlough Integrated Primary School, opposite the Londonderry Arms Hotel.

 

A Brief History...

It is believed that the first settlers in Glencloy were primitive hunters and fishermen who arrived in the valley around 6000 BC. These first residents of Carnlough were attracted to the area by an abundance of flint which they used for tools and weapons. The glen also provided a source of food such as deer, wild pig, hare, fox and wolf and the nearby sea allowed the settlers to hunt for fish and shell fish. The area around the modern village is scattered with numerous sites of archeological significance and bears testimony to the ancient history of the village and its people. Early visitors to the area included the Vikings and the Normans but it was in the 14th Century that the area came under the control of the warlike MacDonnells, mercenaries from the Western Isles of Scotland. The MacDonnell family continued to dominate the area and in the early 17th Century, in an attempt to improve relations with England, Randal MacDonnell, the first Earl of Antrim granted around 25 lowland Scots families leases in the glens area. This 'plantation' of the glens gave rise to the unique mixture of Irish and Scots-Irish heritage which the visitor can enjoy to this day.

 

 

View of Carnlough from

View of Carnlough from
Ballyvaddy Road 2003

View from Carnlough Harbour,

View from Carnlough Harbour, overlooking Harbour Road and beyond to the now disused Carnlough Limestone Quarry.

View from Carnlough Harbour,

Carnlough Harbour from the
Largy Road looking through
'The Plantain' and beyond to
two of the headlands and the
first of the Nine Glens of
Antrim 'Glenarm Glen' in the
background.

Harbour Road showing the Carnlough Bridge

Harbour Road showing the Carnlough Bridge

Close up of Carnlough Harbour.

Close up of Carnlough Harbour.

Close up of Carnlough Harbour taken July 2004.

Close up of Carnlough Harbour taken July 2004.

Carnlough taken from Gortnacory Road showing Carnlough Bay.

Carnlough taken from Gortnacory
Road showing Carnlough Bay.

Another view of Carnlough village taken from the Ballyvaddy Road showing the bay and the disused Carnlough Limestone Quarry.

Another view of Carnlough village taken from the Ballyvaddy Road showing the bay and the disused Carnlough Limestone Quarry.

Cranny Waterfalls, accessed via the Waterfall Road, is the first local Nature Reserve.

Cranny Waterfalls, accessed via the Waterfall Road, is the first local Nature Reserve.

Largy Coastal Apartments Carnlough's new 5 Star Self-Catering Apartments overlooking Carnlough Bay and the North Channel to Scotland.(Click photo to view apartments)

Largy Coastal Apartments Carnlough's new 5 Star Self-Catering Apartments overlooking Carnlough Bay and the North Channel to Scotland.(Click to view apartments)

 

Largy Coastal Apartments Carnlough's new 5 Star Self-Catering Apartments overlooking Carnlough Bay and the North Channel to Scotland.

Largy Coastal Apartments

Garron Tower, now St. MacNissis College, was once the summer residence of the Marchioness of Londonderry, Frances Ann Vane who inherited the estate in 1834 and thereafter developed the limestone industry in Carnlough.

Garron Tower, now St. MacNissis College, was once the summer residence of the Marchioness of Londonderry, Frances Ann Vane who inherited the estate in 1834 and thereafter developed the limestone industry in Carnlough.

Carnlough Village from the air showing the harbour which is constructed mainly of a unique white limestone. To the left of the picture is the local Northern Bank, Carnlough Integrated Primary School, the famous Londonderry Arms Hotel, the Townhall which is now a Library and the well known Carnlough Bridge constructed 1854 as a mineral railway to carry limestone from the local Quarry to the cargo boats destined for Scotland. Havelock Place opposite the Harbour links Harbour Road to the High Street and the Largy Road. Bali-Hai Nursery, which is situated on the Largy Road (No 42 ), is open to the public by appointment only.